Class of 2018 Talks, Reflecting Back on 2015

As new students are about to arrive, several students in Class of 2018 got together to talk about their freshman year. Here’s what they had to say. (Some requested to remain anonymous.)

What was the most memorable event or occurrence?

In the 1st semester, my friends and I planned a “movie day” right after the exams ended. We went out and came back with snacks. I even remember the title of the film: “Bride Wars.”

-Jaerin Yim

Exams. Definitely exams. And the trip to Jeju Island.

-Anonymous

When I stayed up all night to write essays…It was my first time writing a paper in English.

-Anonymous

What would you not do again next year? Is there anything you regret doing?

I wouldn’t compare myself to others while learning a foreign language. It’s never too late to learn another language, and there’s no point in feeling bad about yourself since almost everyone is at the same starting point.

-Joonsung Kim

Do I regret doing anything? Well, you never regret the things you have done; in the end, the only things you end up regretting are the things you didn’t do, the opportunities you missed.

-Jung-eun Huh

I played too much during the weekends, especially when I was in the dorm. I wish I could bring back this wasted time.

-Anonymous

I wouldn’t say “again”, but when it comes to something I wouldn’t do, I guess it would be dating someone. When it comes to premature puppy love, you just end up hurting each other.

-Anonymous

What are the important things you learned?

Time management. That was the most useful thing I learned.

-Jaerin Yim

As much as they are delicious, do not replace two meals with Fire Chicken Noodle in a row.

-Kristen Kim

Don’t take the lead in anything without thinking hard first.

-Anonymous

Don’t drink more than two bottles of Bacchus-D (energy drink) a day.

-Anonymous

When were you most proud of yourself?

I’m most proud when I’m playing lacrosse passionately. When it comes to lacrosse, everyone in the team is a rookie at first, so you feel extra rewarded when you see you and your team’s overall skills improve!

-Jungeun Huh

When I made it to the top of Halla Mountain. Oh, and when I learned basic survival skills such as sewing on buttons and using a plunger to successfully un-clog a toilet.

-Kristen Kim

In middle school, I enjoyed giving presentations. I was skillful, too. But right after I came to HAFS, I lost my confidence since I was expected to deliver presentations in English. I felt as if I was being judged. But then, for my Economics class, I was allowed to choose my own topic of interest. By being able to pick a topic that I liked and had knowledge of, I was finally able to find my own self again and regain confidence.

-Anonymous

I was proud when I got into the club I had applied to. I still enjoy doing various activities as a member of the club.

-Anonymous

What’s your advice to the freshmen of 2016? What would you tell them?

Again, time management. If you do not want to find yourself struggling to finish your assignments 30 minutes right before the deadline, do manage your time.

-Jaerin Yim

Life in high school is somewhat similar to getting married; the first 3 weeks are all pleasant and very much like honeymoon. But when honeymoon’s over, oh man…

-Joonsung Kim

In HAFS, you get the feeling that you’re going to learn more during this 3 years than you would in any other high school and college. Welcome to HAFS.

-Jungeun Huh

BY Young Bean Kim ’18

 

Leave a Reply

